Canada announces new and expanded air transport agreements with Algeria, Burkina Faso, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Macedonia, South Africa and Turkey

Published on : Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Transport-Canada-LogoThe Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Transport and the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade, are pleased to announce that Canada has successfully concluded new and expanded air transport agreements with seven countries spanning several regions of the world.


The amended agreements with Algeria, Ethiopia, South Africa and Turkey expand Canada’s existing air transport relationships by allowing airlines to introduce more flight options and routings, which benefit passengers and businesses by providing greater choice and convenience.


First-time bilateral air transport agreements have also been reached with Burkina Faso, Ecuador and Macedonia. These new agreements will help develop air travel markets between Canada and these countries by providing full flexibility for airlines to offer air services using the flights of other airlines, commonly referred to as code-sharing, and to adjust prices according to market conditions.


Today’s announcements come as the 38th session of the International Civil Aviation Organization’s (ICAO) Assembly wrapped up last week at its headquarters in Montreal.


“This has been a great two weeks for Canada’s aviation industry and those who benefit from it,” said Minister Raitt. “We have solidified our position as a leader in international aviation. Canada is the natural home of ICAO and an innovative model for the development of safe, secure and sustainable aviation. We are also continuing to build and expand air transport relationships as demonstrated by today’s announcement. These relationships will provide more commercial opportunities to the Canadian air industry and are important for the competitiveness of our business and tourism sectors. They also give travellers and shippers more choice and convenience.”


“Today’s announcement is yet another example of how our government’s broad and ambitious pro-trade plan will benefit Canadian workers, exporters and businesses,” said Minister Fast. “The expansion of air transport relationships goes hand in hand with opening new markets around the world, which we know creates jobs, growth and long-term prosperity here at home.”


The rights under most of these agreements are being applied administratively, which allows new air services to be introduced immediately.


The Government of Canada’s approach to expanding its air transport relationships is consistent with Canada’s Blue Sky policy, which encourages long-term, sustainable competition and the development of new or expanded international air services. Under this policy, the Government of Canada has concluded new or expanded air transport agreements covering almost 80 countries, including:


Open Skies-type agreements with 16 countries: Barbados, Brazil, Costa Rica, Curaçao, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Sint Maarten, South Korea, Switzerland, and Trinidad and Tobago.
Expanded agreements with 18 countries: Algeria, China, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Japan, Jordan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Pakistan, Peru, the Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, and Turkey.
First-time agreements with 19 countries: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador,  the Gambia, Kenya, Kuwait, Macedonia, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Tunisia and Uruguay.
A comprehensive air transport agreement between Canada and 27 of the European Union’s member states.


Source:- Transport Canada

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

arrow2Follow Us
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 





    More Events...