Ghana announces visa on arrival for 54 African Union member states

Published on : Friday, March 11, 2016

Ghana-to-hold-paragliding-300x137On the occasion of Ghana’s 59th year of independence, President John Dramani Mahama announced that the country will begin to offer visas on arrival to citizens of all 54 African Union (AU) member states starting July.

Opening its doors to other African nations could be crucial for Ghana. The travel and tourism industry accounts for 5.9% of its GDP.


However, Mahama did not say whether the new policy would include business visas.

According to the African Development Bank, only 25% of the African countries offer visas on arrival to nationals of other African nations. Therefore, Ghana’s new visa policy is big news in Africa.


Only the Seychelles is known to have an open access visa policy applicable to citizens of all AU member states.


Notably, Ghana currently offers visa free entry for citizens of 15 countries within the Economic Community of West African States.



Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

arrow2Follow Us
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 





    More Events...