Top literary prize won by inaugural Belfast Poet Laureate

Published on : Saturday, January 18, 2014

Top-literary-prizeTS Eliot prize won by Belfast Laureate Sinead Morrissey Morrissey was made Belfast’s first Poet Laureate in 2013

Sinead Morrissey, the inaugural Belfast Poet Laureate, has won this year’s TS Eliot prize for poetry for her collection ‘Parallax’.

It is the fourth time Morrissey has been shortlisted for the £15,000 prize, which is organised by the Poetry Book Society.

Chair of judges Ian Duhig called her work “politically, historically and personally ambitious”.

Morrissey was born in 1972 in County Armagh, and is the author of five poetry collections.

After being appointed to her post as Belfast Laureate in July 2013, Morrissey said: “Belfast is a city with an extraordinary literary tradition, especially in relation to poetry.”

“I am excited to celebrate and explore further both the city and poetry in the year ahead.”


Comments are closed.

arrow2Follow Us
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 





    More Events...