Tourism Recognises Industry Leaders

Published on : Thursday, December 11, 2014

downloadSome of the Australian tourism industry’s greatest leaders were recognised for their outstanding contribution at the Australian Tourism Export Council’s (ATEC) annual Gala Dinner last night with a special inaugural award in honour of industry stalwart, Captain Trevor Haworth.
The dinner also offered an opportunity for ATEC and its members, to mark the considerable contribution of retiring Chairman, John King OAM, who has held the position for the past 8 years.


His work for ATEC, and Australia’s tourism industry, is recognised as a driving force in the industry’s success over the past 40 years.
The Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to ATEC was awarded to Choice Hotel’s Aileen Cobern who, with more than 20 years experience in the industry, has also been an active member of ATEC through her roles at both a national and state level.
“All of us at ATEC know that Aileen’s enthusiasm and commitment had gone above and beyond, showing a dedication and support to members particularly in her local Victoria/Tasmania branch,” ATEC Chairman, Denis Pierce said.
“A Victorian has also been awarded this year’s Len Taylor Young ATEC Award for Leadership, which goes to Paul Beames who had the vision to build a Wildlife Tours Australia, which is now one of Australia’s leading small group tour operations, providing innovative, customer service oriented experiences for international visitors.”
The inaugural Captain Trevor Haworth Outstanding Contribution by an Individual to Industry award has recognised a major force in Australian tourism landscape and one who has been central to growing the industry over the past 30 years, Mr Francis Wong OAM.
“As an active member of the ATEC SA Branch, Francis has extended his enormous experience and connections to the benefit of all ATEC members and we are pleased to be awarding him this prestigious award today.
“As an award that recognises the some of the amazingly generous, passionate and committed individuals in our industry, Francis is truly well qualified to be our inaugural award winner.”
Along with recognising the efforts of retiring Branch Chairs and Board members and Branch of the year award winner, South Australia, Mr Pierce thanked John King for his longstanding contribution to ATEC, wishing him well for the future.


Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

arrow2Follow Us
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 





    More Events...