Wtaaa Selects New Board and Chair and Discussed The Future

Published on : Thursday, September 8, 2016

WTAAAThe World Travel Agents Associations Alliance (WTAAA) held its annual General Assembly and bi-annual Board meeting in Geneva, Switzerland, September 4-6, 2016 have elected a new board.

Outgoing Chair Jayson Westbury has served his two-year term. The WTAAA board thanked him for his service which has seen the WTAAA expand its membership considerably, negotiate for change with IATA and continue to represent the interests of the travel agency community on the global stage.

The following newly elected WTAAA office bearers include:
Chair – Otto de Vries (CEO – Association of Southern African Travel Agents)
Vice Chair – Mark Meader (Vice President – Industry Affairs American Society of Travel Agents)
Treasurer – Praveen Chugh (President – Travel Agents Federations of India)
The following newly elected WTAAA Board (Directors, Deputy Directors) will hold a two- year-term:
Australia (AFTA): Mr Jayson Westbury
Brazil (ABAV): Mr Edmar Bull , Mr Marcelo de Oliveria
Canada (ACTA): Ms Wendy Paris, Mrs Heather Craig-Peddie
Europe (ECTAA): Mr Lars Thykier, Mr Michel de Blust
India (TAFI): Mr Praveen Chugh, Mr Jayesh Tharani
New Zealand (TAANZ): Mr Andrew Bowman, Mr Andrew Olsen
South Africa (ASATA) Mr Otto de Vries, Mrs Vanya Lessing
USA (ASTA) Mr Mark Meader,
Asean (FATA) Mr Hamzah Rahmat, Mr Suparek Surangoora
Spain (CEAV) Mr Rafael Nadal, Ms Eva Blasco

“With the role as Chair of this global association comes the opportunity to champion the concerns and causes of not only ASATA members, but the entire global travel agency community over the coming year”, said de Vries. “I wish to thank the outgoing Chair for his immeasurable contribution over the past two years. Much work lies ahead of us and I know that I can continue to count on his wisdom and guidance as we move forward.”
The board of WTAAA also bestowed its second only life honorary membership to founding delegate from TAANZ, Peter Barlow on his departure from the board after 10 years. He is replaced by Andrew Bowman.

WTAAA’s board agenda included discussions on the global relationships with the GDS, expanded membership for the future of the WTAAA, important strategic position papers for the travel value chain in the future and complex competition issues facing the industry at large.

WTAAA also participated in the IATA PAPGJC meeting in advance of the Passenger Conference (PAConf/39) which is being held in Singapore on the 19th – 21st September. In addition, considerable consultation with IATA took place on the NewGenISS programs being advanced by IATA. In particular the WTAAA debated the topics proposed in the form of Remittance Holding Capacity and the IATA EasyPay product that may introduce new options for travel agents to pay airlines for tickets sold. International Air Transport Association’s (IATA) New Distribution Capability (NDC), New Gen ISS, Airline Debit Memos (ADM) and various other industry issues was also discussed.



Comments are closed.

arrow2Follow Us
facebook-logo  twitter-logo  LinkedIn_logo  stumbleupon-logo   rss_logo 





    More Events...